The Babymoon is Over

21 01 2008
I’m going back to work (student teaching) tomorrow – I can’t believe it. It’s been so great to be at home with E. and Mr. E. – spending so much uninterrupted time together getting to know him, giving him baths, and taking copious amounts of pictures of him, of course. It’s also been good that we’ve taken him out of the house together – to get the routine down enough so that we can manage it on our own in the future when we need to. I am excited to get back to the students, but I know it will be hard to leave my little guy.

E. asked me the other night if I was going to post about the birth from my point of view. I said I didn’t think I would. I feel like E. gave a very thorough account of what happened, and I was right there with her through every bit of it. The hardest part of it all was watching her in so much pain for so long, and that coupled with no sleep left my nerves shot by the early morning on the day he was born. But I learned, as these kind of experiences often teach us, how amazingly equipped our bodies, minds and spirits are to take on such extreme circumstances, and when my perfect boy was born I forgot about all of it. The other hard part was sleeping in a hospital for 3 nights, and I thought I might just lose it when they started threatening a 4th because of his jaundice. Thank goodness we broke out of there!

The best part was the experience of his birth, seeing him come into this world and then being the one to look at him and pronounce “it’s a boy!” Perhaps the most amazing thing I’ve ever experienced.

Almost 2 weeks later, and Mr. E. has seemed to fit seamlessly into our lives. Sometimes he takes up a lot of energy – like when it takes us hours to get out of the house, but sometimes he is just the cartoon baby, plopped right down in front of us, silently sleeping while we carry on with our lives. This is going to be such an interesting journey…

Actions

Information

7 responses

23 01 2008
Lo

It is the most amazing thing, isn’t it??

23 01 2008
brookejohnston

Thanks for posting this. I don’t know why, but reading this has been very comforting, and calming. It’s nice to know that your lives are going so well, and I know that someday will be my turn, again. I guess that’s the way it works. We have to take turns when it comes to life’s “ups and downs.” By the way, ‘when they started threatening a 4th’, and ‘thank goodness we broke out of there’ was too funny. (It) made me snicker…Thanks for sharing…

Brooke

23 01 2008
Jude

He will not be a cartoon baby for long! Just you wait, soon you will be the cartoon people in HIS world! 🙂

Good luck on your return to student teaching. I hope the kiddos are extra nice to you!

23 01 2008
mrsbluemont

I’m glad you’ve got your nerves back intact. Have a lovely time student teaching. It will be hard I’m sure, but just fine. You have such a beautiful family. oxox

23 01 2008
brookejohnston

This is a post script, as I forgot to add this, and it was really my reason for posting the comment in the first place. (UGH!) I just got “lost” in the reading. This picture of your baby belongs in a magazine. It is SO…pacifying. I know I’ve said this in the past, but I’ll say it again. Your baby is one of the most beautiful babies I’ve ever seen, and he just takes my breath away. Also, in one of my old comments, I posted that I am a former law student. I have to correct that, as that was a typo…I am a former PRElaw student.

The end,
Brooke

23 01 2008
mylesbianlife

tag, you’re it…
do you do these? I would be interested to hear.

28 01 2008
chris

glad things are going so well. i love that you got to announce that mr e was a mister and not a ms! very exciting indeed. how are you holding up since going back to student teaching? you must miss your two e’s so much while you are away.

Leave a Reply

