Reader’s Block

14 06 2008

I have reader’s block.  There, I can finally admit it.

For many months now I’ve been struggling with finding a good book to read.  I’ve started books on my “to read” list by favorite authors that sound great, only to lose interest after a few chapters.  The unfinished and unappreciated book mocks me as I walk by – I only glance at it and think “soon I’ll get back to you” and I know it’s a lie.

I don’t know if it’s summer and all that comes with it – feeling more energized, being outside, etc.  Or perhaps an excuse is actual reality and I really AM too busy.  I don’t see many crevices stuck in between the many happenings of my day where I would be reading.  But perhaps I’m just not looking hard enough.

I feel incomplete without a book to read.  In times like this, I look back longingly at the H*P days – where I would spend hours (pre-baby) in one of the books with the next one in the series just waiting for me to pick it up.  I always did immediately after finishing one – never skipping a beat.  Where are those books?

I need something, dear fellow readers, that can snap me quickly back into my reading routine.  A good David Sedaris comes to mind (I’ve read “Me Talk Pretty…” and “Naked,” fyi).  Fiction is preferable, unless the non-fiction is extremely light and funny.  I think I also need something fairly current.  If you are inclined to help, please check out my GoodReads to see what I’ve read before.  Any help appreciated!

Actions

Information

9 responses

14 06 2008
Lo

I haven’t been reading much either, lately. Once I’m out of school I’m off to the library!! I’ll let you know if I have any good titles to pass on. (Have you ever read Jodi Picoult? Very trashy, but engaging.)

14 06 2008
vee

Try “Cowboys Are My Weakness” by Pam Houston. It’s a collection of short stories (so even if you don’t finish the book, you’ll have finished something just by getting to the end of one). They’re overtly hetero/masculine but, to my reading at least, subversively feminist and at times queer. But maybe that’s just me.

I also love Vikram Seth’s “A Suitable Boy” – sprawling family epic set in India. MASSIVE thick book, but lots of small chapters and lots of threads to keep you interested. Perhaps a bit daunting though, as a block breaker.

Good luck finding something that does the trick.

14 06 2008
chris

i also like the jodi picoult books. also, i read water for elephants and it was excellent. an easy read, went quickly and was very engaging. it was a new book at out library, so it is fairly current. also, like anna quindlen. she spoke at my smith graduation. black and blue is great, but is not a “light and airy” read. deals with domestic violence and a mom that takes her son to live a new life away from abusive dad.

14 06 2008
JR

Hi…I lurk here sometimes. I hope you don’t mind.

I hatehatehate when I can’t seem to find anything to read. It makes me feel a little gross inside. I read a lot and these are my go-to books when I get into that reading funk where nothing makes sense.
1. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruis Zafon
This is hands down my favorite book ever. It’s a book about finding that perfect book and wanting to know everything there is about it. Zafon takes the simple pleasure of finding a book and creates this whirlwind mystery with the author of the book, the reader of the book, Barcelona — where the reader and the author are both from–, family ties, friendships, unlikely relationships. It’s amazing.

2. Anything by Nick Hornby. His most famous books are High Fidelity and About a Boy. His books seem to have darker undertones, but are very well written, almost poetic at times.

3. The Professor and the Madman by Simon Winchester (nonfiction) This book is about the creation of Oxford’s English Dictionary. It’s a little history heavy, but has a great story. It’s a word lover’s book.

4. The Devil in the White City (I can’t remember who wrote it) It’s nonfiction. It tells the story of the Chicago World’s Fair and a serial killer. The history is great and the way the author weaves the two stories together is fantastic.

I have to second Pam Houston. I saw her at the Northern AZ Book Festival a 5 or 6 years ago and she is hysterical without being over the top.

I hope this helps your quest. Happy Reading!

15 06 2008
j. k-c.

I saw a new David Sedairs book at the book store yesterday. I forget the title, but it has an x-ray pic of a skull on the cover.

21 06 2008
s. k-c.

A couple of months ago, I read the Rapture of Canaan. Honestly, after reading became a required part of school, it lost its glamour for me, and I’ve never quite recovered. So I don’t often get through a book, and this one had me rushing to it and flipping the pages at every chance I had. I wish I could find more like it. Let me know if you want me to send it to you…

8 07 2008
mylesbianlife

I am reading, A year of wonders. The book is historical fiction about the plague. Very good. I know you just went to the library, but wanted to make sure I mentioned this one…my book group selected this one. Geraldine Brooks also wrote March and People of the Book. I guess she won a pulitzer…The writing is easy and yet hard all at the same time. I am really enjoying it and can’t seem to put it down. I am definitely going to read all of her other books, and buy this one. I got it from a member of the group;-)

20 07 2008
Roo

The Secret Life of Bees was an excellent book I read a few years ago. Also, Illusions by Richard Bach is one of my favorite books. I saw that you read the Celestine Prophecies and Tenth Insight…The Conversation with God series is very interesting, regardless of your spiritual beliefs….

17 10 2008
MJ Hustla

I have read so many books that I can not keep up with what I should and what I should not read. I know that the book that should be on everyone shevles does not have its place yet. I believe that the books on your book shelf should reflect you personally. Your past, your presnent and your future. I get bored ass hell sometimes when I read books – but I force myself to the next one. I believe by forcing myself to open any book within distance or magazine within reach. After stumbling across books, I find it that much exciting because I never would have known that I could search out the feelings of the articles, books, and poems of the writer. I love being able to push myself. I find pushing boundaries and taking risk everyday as a mission. If I can not find a way to futher something – then it can not be done. I have a good example for you. I am on a Sleep When I Die Tour. (Literally) I stay awake as long as I can. Three sometimes four days not to meantion I feel out in my apartments bathroom because I stay awake for almost five days. Who said it can not be done? I live three days at a time and that includes but not limit; rapping at least ten hours or more, writing blogs, writing poetry, practing those lyrics from both rap/poetry, FT college student, and much…. much more. The last piece of advice for you is to stay opened minded. You never know what type of books will change the outlook in life that you see before you. I am MJ Hustla Poet & Rapper

http://mjhustla.wordpress.com/

http://www.riverfrontradio.com/MJ_Hustla

http://www.myspace.com/hustlamuzik314

http://www.myspace.com/hustlacitysociety

http://www.isound.com/mj_hustla_mo

http://www.isound.com/mj_hustla

Leave a Reply

