Fumbling Forward

4 04 2007

The conference is over. Coming home exhausted Sunday afternoon after going for many days straight, depending on when you start counting, I was eager to come home and just BE. I had many options on the menu: take a nap, play with my cats, stare at the wall. I did none of the above.

What did I do?

Cleaned like a mad woman.

The entire house. Top to bottom. It was so utterly disgusting. I had been living like a frat boy these past few days. I could not, under ANY circumstances, concentrate on doing, or being anything until it was all CLEAN. And thus, folks, you bear witness to my as-of-yet undiagnosed obsession with cleanliness and all things ORDER. Sometimes I worry even myself.

But, as I surveyed my accomplishment, I was happy I plowed through it. I had Monday and today off, and accomplished many great things, including:

– finally paying much-needed attention to my homework

– making the initial call to set up our MAPP training process

– began studying for the next MTEL in May

– getting info together to file my FAFSA for this year

– acquiring my yearly free credit report

– finally figuring out what the hell “del.icio.us” is, and immediately deciding I had to be a part of it (see sidebar)

among other time-consuming tasks that further distracted me from above-mentioned homework. Oh yes, I am deep in the avoidance stage…

Today was my volunteer day at the after-school program, and I gleefully remembered how to play “cat’s cradle.” Small wonders, my friends, small wonders.


Actions

Information

2 responses

4 04 2007
Sara

I wish I could have borrowed some of your inspiration/motivation!

7 04 2007
GoGo

Came across your blog from Sunday Scribbles. I’m enjoying reading your stuff. Nice stuff here.

~GoGo

Leave a comment